In order to establish the bona fides of the Fund, it was decided to enlist a group of eminent anthropologists to serve as sponsors of the Fund. The main function of the Board of Sponsors is to give intellectual support to the goals of the Fund in order to demonstrate the importance of this work. Also, if members of the Board know of individuals or foundations that might be interested in giving support to this work, we would appreciate hearing from them. We are constantly interested in enlarging this Board of Sponsors and would welcome hearing from anyone who would be interested in lending their support. We would like to express our deep appreciation and thanks to all the sponsors who have given their support to this project.

David F. Aberle (University of British Columbia) 
K. Alexander Adelaar (University of Melbourne)
Nathan Altshuler (College of William and Mary)
George N. Appell, Founding Sponsor (Brandeis University)
Diane Austin-Broos (University of Sydney)
Joan Bamberger (Wellesley College)
Jonathan C. M. Benthall (Royal Anthropological Institute)
Brent Berlin (University of Georgia)
Megan Biesele (Rice University) 
Robert Blust (University of Hawai'i)
John H. Bodley (Washington State University)
Erika Bourguignon (Ohio State University) 
Donald E. Brown (University of California, Santa Barbara) 
Thomas Buckley (University of Massachusetts, Boston) 
Ann Pat Caplan (University of London)
Janet F. Carsten (University of Edinburgh)
Michael M. Cernea (The World Bank)
Norman A. Chance (University of Connecticut) 
Benjamin N. Colby (University of California, Irvine)
Harold C. Conklin (Yale University) 
William Davenport (University of Pennsylvania) 
John Davis (All Souls College, Oxford University)
Robert K. Dentan (State University of New York, Buffalo)
Amity A. Doolittle (Yale University) 
Michael R. Dove (Yale University)
Richard Allen Drake (Michigan State University)
Brian Durrans (The British Museum)
Timothy Earle (Northwestern University)
James F. Eder, Jr. (Arizona State University) 
R. F. Ellen (University of Kent at Canterbury)
Sir Raymond Firth (London School of Economics & Political Science) 
James J. Fox (Australian National University)
Charles Frantz (State University of New York, Buffalo) 
Thomas M. Fraser, Jr.* (New Hampshire) 
Derek Freeman* (Australian National University)
Robert Gardner (Harvard University)
Rosemary Gianno (Keene State College)
Peter R. Goethals* (Hawai'i)
Walter R. Goldschmidt (University of California, Los Angeles) 
Anthony Good (University of Edinburgh)
Felicitas D. Goodman (Denison University) 
J. R. Goody (University of Cambridge) 
Robert J. Gordon (University of Vermont)
P. Bion Griffin (University of Hawai'i)
Stephen F. Gudeman (University of Minnesota) 
Marie-Françoise Guedon (University of Ottawa)
Alfred Harris (University of Rochester)
Olivia Harris (Goldsmiths' College)
Eric Hirsh (Brunel University)
Robert K. Hitchcock (University of Nebraska) 
Anna Hohenwart-Gerlachstein (IUAES-Commission on Urgent Anthropological Research)
W. W. Howells (Harvard University) 
Dell Hymes (University of Virginia)
Nitish Jha (Brandeis University - Consultation Group on International Agriculture Research)
Cornelia Ann Kammerer (Hampshire College)
William Kelly (Yale University)
Victor T. King (University of Hull) 
A. Thomas Kirsch* (Cornell University) 
Stuart Kirsch (University of Michigan)
Claude Lévi-Strauss (Collège de France) 
E. Douglas Lewis (University of Melbourne)
Celia Lowe (University of Washington)
Alan MacFarlane (University of Cambridge)
T. N. Madan (University of Delhi) 
Luisa Maffi (Northwestern University)
Robert A. Manners* (Brandeis University) 
Charity A. McNabb (Firebird Foundation)
Torben Monberg (Fredensborg, Denmark)
Brian Morris (Goldsmiths' College)
C. Patrick Morris* (University of Washington)
Shuichi Nagata (University of Toronto)
Rodney Needham (All Souls College, Oxford University)
Ida Nicolaisen (University of Copenhagen) 
Stephen Nugent (Goldsmiths' College)
Eugene Ogan (University of Hawai'i)
Kazunori Oshima (University of Kyoto)
Robert Paine (Memorial University of Newfoundland)
Richard J. Parmentier (Brandeis University) 
Stephen L. Pastner (University of Michigan)
James L. Peacock (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill) 
Anton Ploeg (Nijmegen University) 
Laura Rival (University of Kent at Canterbury)
Paul B. Roscoe (University of Maine, Orono)
Benson Saler (Brandeis University) 
Clifford Sather (University of Helsinki)
Bernard J. L. Sellato (University of Provence) 
Parker Shipton (Boston University)
Daniela F. Sieff (Real World Pictures)
Masri Singarimbun* (Gadjah Mada University) 
Melford E. Spiro (University of California, San Diego)
Leslie E. Sponsel (University of Hawai'i, Honolulu) 
Vinson H. Sutlive, Jr. (College of William and Mary) 
R. L. Tapper (School of Oriental and African Studies)
Mark Turin (Cambridge University)
Motomitsu Uchibori (Hitotsubashi University) 
Evon Z. Vogt (Harvard University)
Reed Wadley (University of Missouri)
Laura P. A. Warren (Milton Academy)
Peter Wogan (Willamette University)
* deceased

Home Page

The Fund



 Administration Agreement

 Objectives of Fellowships


 Fellowships Awarded

 Applications for Fellowships

 Publications of Fellows

 Financial Status/ Fund-raising Goals

Contact Us

Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.

Last modified: 28 Aug 07